Weekly Photo Challenge: Vibrant Watercolors.

Catching up on the Weekly Photo Challenge, I found this week’s keyword to be “vibrant“. After the initial emptiness in your head you experience when you’re prompted for a quick idea, it only took me a few seconds to come up with my contribution to this photography project.

Some 2 or 3 years ago, I bought a set of watercolors. And because I am a person who is always scared of wasting things, I have barely used it yet. I love crafts, painting and everything creative, but I always feel like I’m not good enough at it. So when it comes to actually using up some of my art supplies stash, I’m always a bit hesitant. I know this attitude is a bit contradictive; as long as I don’t practice, I won’t become better, so I will continue to feel like I might be wasting something.

So this week, I decided to get out my watercolors again and play around with them. Every time I actually do, I find that experimenting with different techniques is so rewarding and relaxing! I still can’t say that I’ve gotten better at painting with them… Most of my attempts still end in blobs of blended colors. (Too much water, not enough color? I don’t know…) Nevertheless, I really do enjoy playing around with watercolors. And maybe, if I keep practicing, I will get better eventually.

One of the things I painted this week, and the one which I think turned out the best, is this lovely crystal cluster, inspired by this youtube tutorial.

Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset
Pretty crystal cluster painted with watercolors.

Hope this will brighten up your day, no matter if it is winter or summer where you life. I mean, who doesn’t like pretty colors and crystals?

9 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Vibrant Watercolors.

  1. Nice work! A bit too gentle for the “vibrant” topic, but still beautiful) gouache or acrylic paint would have done the trick, I guess – especially gouache, I love it) *because you can paint all over the mistake you’ve made and noone will notice! :P*

Leave a Reply

