Three Day Quote Challenge: Day 1.

typewriter

Hello dear blogging community!

I was nominated for the Three Day Quote Challenge, and as someone who is a big fan of books and literature, this sounds like the perfect task for me. I was already nominated some days ago by the lovely Spiritualjourney17, and now I received another nomination by mariemathilda. As life goes, I was busy in the past days with work and I was already having a bad conscience about not finding the time to start this challenge, but I guess the second nomination means I should really get going. So without further ado, here is my first quote:

‘Not just yet’, he said quietly, and winter settled over the valley.

This is taken from A Whole Life by Robert Seethaler, a book I finished recently. The narrative describes the entire life of a man living in a valley in the alps and is set in the 20th century. If you want to read more about my thoughts on it, I’ve written a review here.
Without wanting to spoil the ending of the book for those of you who might be interested in reading it, I loved the simplicity of this last sentence. The entire book is written in such simple language but still manages to evoke a variety of emotions in the reader. In fact, I found that last sentence so captivating that after finishing it, I held the book open for just a little while longer, because I felt that if I closed to early, I might shatter this fragile image of winter quietly arriving.

I’d like to nominate the following bloggers for today:

The rules are simple:

  1. Post three consecutive days.
  2. You can pick one or three quotes per day.
  3. Challenge three different bloggers per day.

Have fun everyone!


11 thoughts on “Three Day Quote Challenge: Day 1.

Leave a Reply

