Three Day Quote Challenge: Day 2.

typewriter

Of course, I am posting late. I was supposed to post the second quote yesterday, but as I left the house at 6:30 am and didn’t come home until past 11 pm there really was no way I could fit this in. But better a little late than just giving up, right?

Today’s quote comes from one of my most favorite books. It is A Moveable Feast by Ernest Hemingway.

I worked on his Paris memoir as part of my master’s dissertation, and I know this short book in and out. Everyone who has read Hemingway knows his writing style, which, at first sight, doesn’t convey much emotion and usually consists of very short sentences, mixed with the occasional very long ones, constructed through the excessive usage of ‘and’ as a conjunction. But let’s not dwell on these things (sorry – my inner literature major shining through). Instead, here’s my second quote:

All you have to do is write one true sentence. Write the truest sentence that you know.

In A Moveable Feast, this thought crosses Hemingway’s mind when he sits down to write a short story but struggles to find a starting point. As someone who has written a LOT during her studies, articles for magazines, or book reviews, I can relate to that feeling of an empty page staring at you accusingly very strongly.

I feel like this quote relates to other areas of life as well. Struggling to start an uncomfortable conversation, trying to ask for something that makes you feel nervous? Start with a short, true sentence. State a fact. And then trick your brain into going from there.


I’d like to nominate the following bloggers for today:

The rules are simple:

  1. Post three consecutive days.
  2. You can pick one or three quotes per day.
  3. Challenge three different bloggers per day.

Have fun everyone!

4 thoughts on “Three Day Quote Challenge: Day 2.

  1. Wow, what a quote! So strict and a real challenge. I agree that a strong first sentence is key in every piece you write and every conversation you have. However, was Hemingway not a bit too hard on himself? Reminds me a lot of Scott Fitzgerald and his struggles to be a successful writer after “the great Gatsby”. Thank you for choosing this quote, it really is excellent food for thought!

    1. You’re very welcome, it’s one if my favorite quotes! I believe that Hemingway actually did work the way he describes it, it’s what set him apart from other writers of the ‘Lost Generation’. He put in so many hours and had a structured working schedule that he actually became known for his writing throughout his life, while
      other struggled with fame until the end of their lives.. Which of course doesn’t make books like ‘Gatsby’ less captivating 🙂

Leave a Reply

