We’re only young and naive still…

‘… we require certain skill’. Even though the song Young Blood by The Naked and The Famous came out 5 years ago already, I can still relate to it today. I was 20 when the song was released, and now I will be turning 25 soon. For me, Young Blood is about youth, not yet knowing where to go with your life, not yet having figured out one’s place in life. The song sounds carefree and celebrates this state of heady youth and ‘trying to find the in-betweens’ where you might fit. However, I feel like by now I should have figured it out.

I went to a friend’s birthday party last night and chatted with some of my friends about the future. Most of them have recently finished their bachelor’s degree and are now starting to look for jobs or even have a job already, are moving out or in with friends or partners, and have a concrete plan of what comes next. When I left the party, I felt pretty troubled. Even though I finished my postgrad degree five months ago already, I still wasn’t able to find a job in the area I want to work in.

I need to be realistic though. I moved back to Germany and back in with my family, and it simply seems to be so much harder to find a job abroad, in the UK, from where I am right now. If I decided to stay in Germany, I probably would have a job and my own place by now. But I chose something else; I want to work in Publishing in the UK, and I have to accept that this is ‘the road less traveled’. I do have some plans for the coming months that might work and I also have a work experience placement coming up in April at a publisher’s in London, so I keep telling myself that I shouldn’t worry and just continue to do my best to gain relevant ‘skills’ that will help me achieve what I want. I am sure I can do this. Sometimes, I just need tocalm down, sit down, and actually write it out. So thank you for sticking with me in these moments!

7 thoughts on “We’re only young and naive still…

  1. “Publishing in the UK” – sounds great! How about children’s literature branch?)) *smiles mysteriously*
    Just kidding) Good luck with your plans!

    1. Haha to be honest, I’d really love that! I always liked children’s and YA literature, because I think it’s so important that young people read, too! So maybe I’ll manage to work in this area 🙂

  2. Stick to your plan and leave out the comparisons. I know that’s hard to do sometimes but each person has their own road to travel, even in the same age group. Now in in later years in my life, I do understand where you are coming from because “been there, done that.” However, I look over my life and can appreciate the choices that I made, even the one where I left the work force to be a homemake for a time. And, you have some things coming up. Look forward to those things and enjoy your friends. Just want to encourage you not to get caught up in the “what ifs.” They can be very destructive at times. Have a blessed day.

    1. Thank you for your comment, this was really uplifting! You are right, in a few years I’ll probably look back at these months and think “why on earth was I so worried”… I know I shouldn’t compare myself too much to others, but sometimes I just can’t help but see that others may be doing better at the moment and that can be frustrating. But I’m trying to focus on what I want and my plans, and I’m sure I’ll figure it out soon! Have a great day, too!

Leave a Reply

