Three Day Quote Challenge: Day 3.

typewriter

So much for three consecutive days. I was supposed to post this quote yesterday, but when inspiration simply isn’t kicking in, you just can’t force it. So I let the challenge rest yesterday and hoped for a better mood today.

My last quote is from A Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man by James Joyce.

It was his first novel, and Joyce published it in 1916. It tells the story of the young Stephen Dedalus and his reflections on the religious conflict between Catholic and Irish conventions while Stephen can be seen as a character based on Joyce himself.

Without waiting for his father’s questions he ran across the road and began to walk at breakneck speed down the hill. He hardly knew where he was walking. Pride and hope and desire like crushed herbs in his heart sent up vapours of maddening incense before the eyes of his mind. He strode down the hill amid the tumult of sudden-risen vapours of wounded pride and fallen hope and baffled desire. They streamed upwards before his anguished eyes in dense and maddening fumes and passed away above him till at last the air was clear and cold again.

When I read A Portrait some months ago, I have to admit I struggled with Joyce’s writing style. The book depicts the developing mind of Stephen from his earliest memories to a fully developed consciousness; Joyce’s writing is famous for its complexity and almost mathematical structures that need close attention to unravel. However, I find his prose truly fascinating and many paragraphs, like the one I quoted here, show the beauty and perfect construction of Joyce’s writing style.

This is my last quote for this challenge, and I want to thank Spiritualjourney17 and mariemathilda once again for both nominating me to share my favorite quotes with the blogging community! I hope you enjoyed discovering my quotes as much as I liked reading yours!


 

I’d like to nominate the following bloggers for today:

The rules are simple:

  1. Post three consecutive days.
  2. You can pick one or three quotes per day.
  3. Challenge three different bloggers per day.

Have fun everyone!

2 thoughts on “Three Day Quote Challenge: Day 3.

  1. Hi Olivia, I wanted to thank you again for taking part in the challenge! Your quotes made me want to read more again! I remember reading Joyce when I lived in Ireland. And I also found his writings do be pretty difficult…

    1. Hi, thank you again for nominating me, it was so much fun! Yeah, Joyce certainly isn’t easy, but I find it so interesting, you can clearly tell he spent all his energy in constructing the perfect, intricate narrative 🙂

Leave a Reply

