Weekly Photo Challenge: Life Imitates Art.

It’s already Thursday night and I still haven’t posted a photo for this weeks’ photography challenge. And this is simply because this week, I somehow didn’t find any inspiration for the prompt… Inspired by this quote, the prompt was to find any kind of artwork and replicate it some way;

“Life imitates art far more than art imitates Life.”

— Oscar Wilde

Nevertheless, I really do not want to miss out on this weeks challenge, so I sat down and thought about my favorite artwork, and remembered this:

Nighthawks_by_Edward_Hopper_1942.jpg
Nighthawks – Edward Hopper

The first time I came across this painting was in a textbook in my German class, and we were supposed to describe what we could see in the painting. Ever since, I like both the simplicity and the secret stories of the pictured characters. Now, in order to show how life imitates art, I searched through my photos of coffee shops and found several similar ones, so here they are:

 

What is your favorite artwork? Is it a painting, a sculpture, or something else? Let me know in the comments!

6 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Life Imitates Art.

  1. Various artworks actually. I love paintings, drawings, loom bands, cross stitch, interior designs, literature, etc. Anything that amaze me, I consider artwork. Nice post!

    1. Thank you for your lovely comment! I also recommend other paintings by him, they all seem like they have hidden stories in them. I’m so glad you like the design, I played around with it a lot and although I’m not happy with every single detail, I think it turned out alright 🙂

  2. Such a creative take on this week’s challenge. All those cafes look very cozy, like great places for reading and spending a quiet afternoon 🙂 It is so hard for me to pick a work of art. Any form of art, be is music or paintings or sketches, is often fascinating to me 🙂

    1. You’re definitely right, I usually go to these places to read a book, get some work done, or spend a cozy afternoon with friends 🙂 And yes, anything can be a work of art, that’s why I’m curious what other people like best!

Leave a Reply

