My Monthly Memories: February.

My Monthly Memories by Thoughts of a Socially Anxious Extrovert

Several weeks ago, actually at the beginning of February, I was tagged by Basant She in her ‘My Monthly Memories‘ blogging event. At least, I think she tagged me. Or told me about it in a comment. I can’t exactly remember. But none of this matters, as long as I’ve heard about it, right? Because I believe it is a fantastic idea to create an archive about every month that passes in our lives!

In ‘My Monthly Memories’, each month, you recall in a blog post what you experienced, achieved, what was important to you, or what kind of challenges you faced. Simply, a summary of your month, covering everything that was important to you.

February in Midori Traveler's NotebookFebruary beginning in my Midori Traveler’s Notebook.

I have to admit, I missed out on recalling January… But that doesn’t stop me from starting this project a little late, right? So let’s get right into it!

This year, February was still the shortest month of the year, but at least we were given one extra day to be productive and have fun. Sounds great, right?

This February, I started writing for the London School of Economics – Review of Books, and so far I’ve submitted a bookshop guide (soon to be published) and a book review. Although this is a voluntary commitment, I very much enjoy the feel of academia when reading the books, taking notes, and writing short reviews about them. I have to admit, I do miss university life a lot!

2016-03-05 11.38.28.jpgThe books I’m currently reviewing for the LSE.

Apart from that, I also attended my very first yoga class! I was planning on trying out yoga for ages, but I never really found the time or the motivation or the money, as these courses tend to be rather expensive. But as my coworkers and I found out, there’s a store across the coffee shop where I work that offers free yoga classes once a week on Thursday mornings at 8 am. This way, I can get a first insight into yoga and also feel like I’ve achieved something healthy and productive. And all of this before 10 am. Go me!

On another note, this month my boyfriend, who lives in Liverpool, visited me for the first time at my parents’ house in Hamburg. After a packed but great weekend spent with condensed sight-seeing and lots of translating between him and the rest of my family, we spent another few days in Berlin. It was great having him over and showing him my corner of the world for the first time; I feel like this was very important to me so that he could see where I come from.

The beautiful warehouse district in Hamburg, which is also a Unesco World Heritage Site.

On the blog front, I believe I’ve been doing quite alright, but there is room for improvement. Something I enjoyed a lot was the Three Day Quote Challenge. I was nominated for this challenge by Spiritualjourney17 and the book lover in me had a great time selecting quotes for every day of this project. However, I did post less in the last two weeks of February, both because of lack of inspiration and because I was traveling, so consistency is something I’m hoping to improve in March.

Alright, I think this is all for now! I really believe that these monthly memories are a great idea and a wonderful way to reflect on your past month. If you also like this idea, feel free to join and share your memories. And don’t forget to go and have a look at the original idea over on Thoughts of a Socially Anxious Extrovert, it is definitely worth a read.

Thanks for reading, and see you soon!

3 thoughts on “My Monthly Memories: February.

  1. Hey, thank you very much for joining, it’s no problem at all that it’s late and by the way, I think I told you about the event through a comment 😉 It’s nice to see your experiences this month, I really love Berlin myself and I’m glad you to spend time there. I have yet to go to Hamburg myself but I hope you had a lot of fun exploring the many areas of lovely Germany. Thanks again for joining this month, I really appreciate you and I hope I see more of your Monthly Memories! 🙂

    Basant She
    https://thoughtsofasociallyanxiousextrovert.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

